Home » Uncategorized » Let the Hawaii photo overload ridiculousness begin

Let the Hawaii photo overload ridiculousness begin

First a random comment – SFO’s United Airline gates have free wi-fi if you watch a rental car commercial first. This is phenomenal.

Now onward with the pictures. I noticed that all my pictures can really be grouped in 3 ways – hikes, beaches, and food. So we’ll start with the one that makes me look all healthy and fit so that when the gluttonous food pics commence I can refer back to this to show you how super healthy I am…. yeah right.

First up was hiking to Manoa Falls.

I grew up in Manoa so hiking Manoa Falls was always my go to hike when I lived here, and pretty much always made the “to do” list when I came back to visit. Maybe one of these times the falls will actually look more like Niagara Falls and less like a faucet leak.

There was the Aihualama Trail. Which was cool but ended in a bamboo forest (instead of some place with a view). There were additional trails you could take that probably would get you out of the trees, but after 3 miles up a mountain I was ready to turn around and hike back down.

Yes, I am the epitome of fashion… I know. Also, I spelled the word “epitome” wrong at first and tumblr’s only suggested solution was “sodomy.” Thanks.

I really loved the bamboo forest portions of the hike.

Our next hike to the top of Koko Head Crater is going to get a whole post of its own (I know, contain your excitement). But for now, here’s a shot of Ryan’s hometown. I grew up on the other side of this mountain…. I think. My directional sense is not the greatest.

There was the Makapu’u Lighthouse hike. I know – same awesome fashion as before. But my mother-in-law was completely awesome and washed my smelly clothes so they were clean!

So I was under the impression that the Makapu’u lighthouse hike would end at the Makapu’u lighthouse. Turns out you can’t reach it because it’s off-limits unless you are with the U.S. Coastguard. Believe me, we tried. But this is the closest we got…

My last hike was the Hauula Loop Trail on the North Shore. Being a work day and not a trail typically frequented by tourists, it was pretty empty.

The pictures don’t do it justice but the views at the top of the loop were pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

