Home » Uncategorized » See that girl, watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen

See that girl, watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen

I previously mentioned there were 2 reasons that yesterday’s #Elf4Health challenge got me excited… Here’s the second reason.

As I started practicing the steps to the chorus of Drive Me Crazy, I had a memory. A memory of the day when my (at the time) fiance found out my deep, dark secret. Up until that point Ryan knew that I had been a high school cheerleader (meaning we had to dance to hip-hop/pop songs during halftime) and performed in the most coveted hip-hop/pop dance group in the annual BC Asian culture show. And that most of my free time in college was taken up being one of the dance choreographers and teachers for our annual luau. I loved dancing. In other words, Ryan thought I could dance.

So there we were, trying not to trip over each other while following a ballroom dancing DVD we borrowed in order to learn steps for our wedding when Ryan threw up his hands in exasperation, yelling out “I don’t understand! It’s like you don’t have any rhythm.”

I was completely shocked. My jaw dropped and I stared at him for a long time, before answering, “of course I don’t have rhythm. I can’t hear the beats in the music. I’ve never had rhythm. I’m also tone deaf. How did you not know???” At which point he rattled off all those different dance teams or talent shows I had joined over the year. So I finally confessed something that I didn’t realize he had never known. “I practiced…. A LOT! Hours upon hours just to learn the choreographed dances steps. I learned them by counting out loud. 1 and 2 and 3 and 4…. Then when that was absolutely perfect, I added the music and memorized each dance step to the words in the songs. I can’t dance freestyle to save my life.”

I haven’t attempted to do a dance routine in almost a decade so it was a funny awakening to try to relearn the chorus of You Drive Me Crazy and remember just how much effort it had taken for me to learn steps like this the first time around. But also how much fun it was… Not going to lie, I woke up this morning and sang the song outloud while practicing my newly remembered dance several times through before deciding it was time to go to work.

And as for how Ryan’s and my wedding day dance turned out? We gave up trying to move to the beats, I memorized exact steps that could be strung together, and we went onto the dance floor, looked lovingly into each other’s eyes, and for 3 minutes or so, Ryan whispered which dance step he wanted to do next and I would perform my memorized mini-routine.

Afterwards someone came up to me and told me that it was so cute that we talked the entire time that we danced. I tried not to burst out laughing.

Leave a Reply

