Home » Uncategorized » Last Week’s Food Recap

Last Week’s Food Recap

I haven’t been delinquent on posting my food recaps of the week, I’ve been delinquent on doing any sort of cooking at all, which is typical of me a couple weeks into my busy periods…. I throw my hands up in the air and give up, subsisting on bologna and cheese sandwiches and honey nut cheerios for dinner. It’s wonderful!… but not incredibly healthy so this past week I tried to cook up some dishes just so there would be some food going into my body that wasn’t covered in chemicals.

Roasted Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons – I saw the idea of grilled cheese croutons in tomato soup on pinterest and thought it was an amazing idea. That paired with the onslaught of Blizzard Nemo made this past week seem like the perfect time to try the recipe out. Except the recipe I repinned had forgotten to mention fresh tomatoes in their ingredient listing (I know, I know, should have figured out I needed it myself) and by the time I realized I didn’t have any fresh tomatoes for my roasted tomato soup, all stores were closed and the Connecticut Governor had ordered all cars off the road for the night. So first thing after the blizzard warning lifted on Saturday, I was off to Stop and Shop to pick up some tomatoes. Short story made long, the link above isn’t the recipe I followed, but seemed close enough AND has the added benefit of actually including tomatoes in the ingredient listing. Calorie count for 1 grilled cheese crouton: 34 calories; 1 C of roasted tomato soup: 257 calories

Chicken enchiladas with avocado cream sauce – The avocado cream sauce is to die for. The only different I made was to swap in low fat greek yogurt for sour cream. I froze the enchiladas I didn’t eat on the first night in individually wrapped non-stick foil and took them to work for the rest of the week. The avocado cream sauce started losing some of its pretty color as the days went by but still continued to taste wonderful. Calorie count for 1 enchilada: 598 calories

Turnip Gratin with Parmesan – this was off of a cookbook I bought called A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen by Jack Bishop. I’ve made about 10% of the recipes in the book so far and each are equally awesome so I suggest you buy the book! Calorie count for 1 C of Turnip-Gratin with Parmesan: 230 calories

Roasted Jalapeno Cheese Sauce with Sliced Bread – I blame Nemo for a disasterously unhealthy week of eating. This recipe actually is a soft-pretzel and cheese dip recipe, but 1) baking and me are not good friends and 2) nope, one is pretty much it… so I just went with slicing up a french baguette to dip in the sauce. My one comment is that the recipe said to grate my own cheese. All 8 ounces of it. So I did. And it was messy. And it took FOREVER. So next time, I plan on just buying pre-shredded cheddar cheese. Calorie count for 1 T of the cheese dip: 39 calories

Leave a Reply

