Guess it’s too late the change the name now… since I fell in love with these Emerson Nursery Critter wraps from Pottery Barn Kids and bought one embroidered with Baby Girl’s name. To be fair, for the most part we’ve been settled on her name since she was less than 20 weeks old and (at the time) we were sure she was a boy and had that name completely picked out with just a slight plan of what we would do if it was a girl. But once we were given the “it’s a girl” news that original name was firmly set with a middle name coming soon after and since then we have been keeping it a secret for fear of receiving negative opinions on it* or in the case of Ryan’s family - disturbing the name bet game that was put into place at the birth of his cousins 9 years earlier. My typical excuse of why I don’t tell people the name is that I’m not sure of it yet… which is about 2% accurate. Is the first name too common? is the middle name (or names, actually…) too long? Aak this is too much pressure for someone that decided to name her 3 (fur)babies Spam, Sox and Sushi! But I guess embroidering Baby Girl’s name on a towel is making it much more firm. So I guess I’m down to 1% unsure now… *I mentioned to a co-worker that the middle name was going to be Hawaiian and was greeted with a grimace and a “why?” Considering I can’t think of anyone I went to high school with that did not have a (regardless of ethnicity) Hawaiian, Japanese or Chinese middle name, that response was completely unexpected.

Guess it’s too late the change the name now… since I fell in love with these Emerson Nursery Critter wraps from Pottery Barn Kids and bought one embroidered with Baby Girl’s name.

To be fair, for the most part we’ve been settled on her name since she was less than 20 weeks old and (at the time) we were sure she was a boy and had that name completely picked out with just a slight plan of what we would do if it was a girl.

But once we were given the “it’s a girl” news that original name was firmly set with a middle name coming soon after and since then we have been keeping it a secret for fear of receiving negative opinions on it* or in the case of Ryan’s family – disturbing the name bet game that was put into place at the birth of his cousins 9 years earlier.

My typical excuse of why I don’t tell people the name is that I’m not sure of it yet… which is about 2% accurate. Is the first name too common? is the middle name (or names, actually…) too long? Aak this is too much pressure for someone that decided to name her 3 (fur)babies Spam, Sox and Sushi! But I guess embroidering Baby Girl’s name on a towel is making it much more firm. So I guess I’m down to 1% unsure now…

*I mentioned to a co-worker that the middle name was going to be Hawaiian and was greeted with a grimace and a “why?” Considering I can’t think of anyone I went to high school with that did not have a (regardless of ethnicity) Hawaiian, Japanese or Chinese middle name, that response was completely unexpected.

Leave a Reply

