Home » Uncategorized » What I Read in May

What I Read in May

OMG OMG OMG I actually read books last month! Which is half due to the fact that my busy season at work lets up in May and half because the protruding belly, swollen cankles and allergy season without heavy steroid meds make hiding in my house my favorite new past-time (I’m so cool). In any case, here they are:

The True Memoirs of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

I’ve been wanting to read this novel ever since I read a review about it on Jaclyn’s blog years ago. Basically it was Memoirs of a Geisha (one of my favorite books of all time) meets Rasputin and the last Tsar of Russia (Anastasia’s father!) with the Russian Imperial ballet all wrapped up into one. While this story of Little K (Mathilde Kshessinska) was a complete work of fiction, she did in fact exist, was associated with the Russian Court and was a prima ballerina for the Russian ballet. Go read this now!

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowlings

I picked this book up several years ago for the same reason many others did, it was J.K. Rowlings’s first book after the Harry Potter series ended. At the time I got about 20 pages in over the course of several months before giving it up all together. But something drew me back to it this year and I decided to give it another try. Without the greatness of the Harry Potter series so recent in my mind, it was easier to enjoy The Casual Vacancy as a completely separate book about the differences between the upper, middle, and lower classes in a small English town. This time around, my only complaint was that the cast of characters were so numerous that I couldn’t keep it straight in my head until I was over halfway through the book (similar to Game of Thrones). Other than that, I really enjoyed the Casual Vacancy up until the last chapter when it ended and I didn’t feel like any of the characters really learned or grew. They did on a small level, but most were just so unlikeable as a whole that I didn’t think the small redemptions they received at the end compensated enough for their past indiscretions.

Girlfriends’ Guide to Baby Gear by Vicki Iovine

When I first got pregnant I spent a lot of time on TheBump and someone recommended that I read Vicki Iovine’s The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy. It was the perfect recommendation and had me laughing through my morning sickness. Jump forward 6 months and overwhelmed by registry checklists and reviews I picked up this book to help me navigate through all the baby gear options. The book was pretty helpful and on point but after weekends of perusing blog sites for suggestions, it didn’t really have anything that I hadn’t already learned from the following blogs (for free): Jaclyn Day, Little Baby Garvin and Lucie’s List.

Look Again by Lisa Scottolin

I’m claiming (self-diagnosed) ADD causes me to be all over the place as a reader. For example, I am currently reading several fiction books that I just haven’t felt in the mood to finish yet, a foodie-type book, A Storm of Swords (I count this one separately because it’s humongous), and about three parent guide-type books. So I was kicking myself when I picked up Look Again to start reading amidst all of these already unfinished books. But I ended up reading it all in one day. Or one night as my size is now causing me to have trouble staying asleep through the night so after tossing and turning until 3 AM on Saturday morning I got up and started reading and didn’t put it down until I was done. At which point I was crying… though keep in mind pregnancy hormones make me cry over a lot of things. It was very reminiscent of The Face on the Milk Carton tween series with more of a mystery/thriller twist. And while I figured out how it would end far before getting to the end, which rarely happens because I’m either 1) too wrapped up in the storyline (that’s my version and I’m sticking with it) or 2) too dense (the more likely choice), I still recommend that you run out and start reading this book right now!

Leave a Reply

