2 days old and already seems unimpressed with the world. In other news that relates (if you read the looonnngggg explanation): Sushi hates men. He’s gone from attacking them at first glance to just giving them a wide berth…. But it took years for him to reach that level of acceptance. His one exception to the rule is Ryan, but even that took time. One day in the midst of the Sushi hates Ryan onslaught (read: all men must bleed) Sushi got really sick and ended up in Kittie ER. The vet’s plan was to keep him over night for 2 nights but by night two they had had enough with the “rabid monster” and were begging us to take Sushi home. I had to work late so Ryan went to retrieve him. The vets were shocked when the scary 10 pound monster they were terrified of spotted Ryan and started purring and jumping up and down - so excited to see his dad. And thus began the Sushi loves Ryan point in our history. (To his credit, Ryan always adored Sushi and had been hurt by the constant rebuffs of the past.) Anyways! Fast forward 4ish years later there I was handing my non-impressed daughter off to the nursery nurse for further (regular) testing and her Hep B vaccine. I swear to god when they gave her back to me I got the biggest “ohmygod I KNOW you and love you” smile that I almost died. I heard that at 2 days old it’s not smiling it’s passing gas but whatever - I’ll take it!

2 days old and already seems unimpressed with the world.

In other news that relates (if you read the looonnngggg explanation): Sushi hates men. He’s gone from attacking them at first glance to just giving them a wide berth…. But it took years for him to reach that level of acceptance. His one exception to the rule is Ryan, but even that took time. One day in the midst of the Sushi hates Ryan onslaught (read: all men must bleed) Sushi got really sick and ended up in Kittie ER. The vet’s plan was to keep him over night for 2 nights but by night two they had had enough with the “rabid monster” and were begging us to take Sushi home. I had to work late so Ryan went to retrieve him. The vets were shocked when the scary 10 pound monster they were terrified of spotted Ryan and started purring and jumping up and down – so excited to see his dad. And thus began the Sushi loves Ryan point in our history. (To his credit, Ryan always adored Sushi and had been hurt by the constant rebuffs of the past.)

Anyways! Fast forward 4ish years later there I was handing my non-impressed daughter off to the nursery nurse for further (regular) testing and her Hep B vaccine. I swear to god when they gave her back to me I got the biggest “ohmygod I KNOW you and love you” smile that I almost died. I heard that at 2 days old it’s not smiling it’s passing gas but whatever – I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

