You’re Gonna Miss This by Trace Adkins

I swear the girl in this song is me!

In high school I wrote on my hand the days counting down until the day I turned 15 (legal driving age in Hawaii back in the day) and could drive off whenever I wanted.

image

(Bwahahahaha -> curfew that was upheld by me getting grounded every time I missed it + no car = no freedom).

We hit our 30s and still were (and are) in our tiny apartment with bad heating, no dining room, and a tiny moldy tub. I would spend my days dreaming about having kids in a beautiful house with a backyard in a wonderful kid-friendly neighborhood.

image

(Seriously… I’m not asking for too much!)

And today, I inwardly had to tell myself to hold it together when a sweet man from Home Depot came by to discuss renovations to our bathrooms. In between trying to stop one cat from eating the nice man’s tile samples, another one from jumping in his bag, getting the constantly ringing doorbell (we’ve been ordering a lot of stuff from amazon lately) and trying to calm a constantly fussy baby (have I mentioned Emma has colic…. oh what fun) I ended up having the guy set up shop on the floor of my living room and sit cross legged going over options with me… I was so embarrassed. And then he smiled and pretty much quoted Trace Adkins’ last verse…

Five years later there’s a plumber workin’ on the water heater
Dog’s barkin’, phone’s ringin’
One kid’s cryin’, one kid’s screamin’
She keeps apologizin’
He says They don’t bother me.
I’ve got 2 babies of my own.
One’s 36, one’s 23.
Huh, it’s hard to believe, but …

You’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast
These Are Some Good Times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Leave a Reply

