I’m unathletic. I rarely watch sports. I love pink. I wanted to be a princess growing up (a Disney one as a child, THE British one as a teen). I refused to wear pants or shorts in K-2nd grade, afraid someone would think I was a boy. My least favorite class in school was P.E. In fact I tried out to be a cheerleader just so I wouldn’t have to take P.E. in high school. To summarize, I pretty much am the stereotype that the modern strong, athletic women fight against. But seriously, how are there NO sports-related clothing for baby girls at Carter’s? Due to the fact that I was sick, followed by humongously unhappily pregnant, followed by in labor, and finally busy learning what color poop is healthy and all that, I haven’t yet met my good friend’s child who is almost (give or take a day) 3 months older than Emma. So yesterday, in anticipation of finally meeting Christopher, Emma and I went shopping for a present for her future bestie and we stumbled upon this cute get up. I grabbed one for Chris and then went over to the girl side to find a football-esque onesie for Emma. Nothing! Absolutely nothing related to sports at all located in the girls-side of the store. WTF? I mean if the person who is on a mission to find their daughter a pink fairy costume (for the NY renaissance fair - not halloween) is upset by gender stereotypes there must be something wrong. So I picked up the same outfit in a smaller size for Emma and will have to set up time for the kids to take a twinsies picture together this fall.

I’m unathletic. I rarely watch sports. I love pink. I wanted to be a princess growing up (a Disney one as a child, THE British one as a teen). I refused to wear pants or shorts in K-2nd grade, afraid someone would think I was a boy. My least favorite class in school was P.E. In fact I tried out to be a cheerleader just so I wouldn’t have to take P.E. in high school. To summarize, I pretty much am the stereotype that the modern strong, athletic women fight against. But seriously, how are there NO sports-related clothing for baby girls at Carter’s?

Due to the fact that I was sick, followed by humongously unhappily pregnant, followed by in labor, and finally busy learning what color poop is healthy and all that, I haven’t yet met my good friend’s child who is almost (give or take a day) 3 months older than Emma. So yesterday, in anticipation of finally meeting Christopher, Emma and I went shopping for a present for her future bestie and we stumbled upon this cute get up. I grabbed one for Chris and then went over to the girl side to find a football-esque onesie for Emma. Nothing! Absolutely nothing related to sports at all located in the girls-side of the store. WTF? I mean if the person who is on a mission to find their daughter a pink fairy costume (for the NY renaissance fair – not halloween) is upset by gender stereotypes there must be something wrong. So I picked up the same outfit in a smaller size for Emma and will have to set up time for the kids to take a twinsies picture together this fall.

Leave a Reply

