About Breastmilk (you’ve been forewarned)Before I gave birth, I never really thought much one way or the other about breastfeeding my child other than the (completely unknowledgeable) thought of how it is the best weight loss scheme ever - no effort and the weight comes flying off. No effort…. hahahahahaha.Until Emma was around 9 months old I had no supply issues. In fact, I had to dump half of what I produced for a good 3 months due to a serious infection I had and I still had enough to not only feed Emma but to leave CT with a 500 oz excess supply that I handed over to two of my friends with babies the week before I left.So while my stance with everyone else is: do what you want re: formula/breastmilk, you know your body and your baby best… I figured since I was lucky enough to not have any issues, I would pump through her entire first year of her life.And then when Emma was around 9 months old, it all changed. I think a lot had to do with my pumping schedule. A new job, “single parenting”, a house to unpack… I definitely cut back on how often and how long I was hooked up to that blasted pump machine. And my supply paid the price.So now after all the pain and aggrevation of pumping each day (because I gave up on actually breastfeeding Emma when she was about 1.5 months old), I have very little to show for it. So little that the special dairy-free formula has been purchased for the day when my excess supply that I’ve been using to supplement my current production finally runs out. Every day I think about quitting but feel I’m so close to that (self-created) finish line I have to keep on going. So I write myself a little countdown every day to get me there. 35 more days! What what!Sorry this has being a long post about breastfeeding / pumping.

About Breastmilk (you’ve been forewarned)

Before I gave birth, I never really thought much one way or the other about breastfeeding my child other than the (completely unknowledgeable) thought of how it is the best weight loss scheme ever – no effort and the weight comes flying off. No effort…. hahahahahaha.

Until Emma was around 9 months old I had no supply issues. In fact, I had to dump half of what I produced for a good 3 months due to a serious infection I had and I still had enough to not only feed Emma but to leave CT with a 500 oz excess supply that I handed over to two of my friends with babies the week before I left.

So while my stance with everyone else is: do what you want re: formula/breastmilk, you know your body and your baby best… I figured since I was lucky enough to not have any issues, I would pump through her entire first year of her life.

And then when Emma was around 9 months old, it all changed. I think a lot had to do with my pumping schedule. A new job, “single parenting”, a house to unpack… I definitely cut back on how often and how long I was hooked up to that blasted pump machine. And my supply paid the price.

So now after all the pain and aggrevation of pumping each day (because I gave up on actually breastfeeding Emma when she was about 1.5 months old), I have very little to show for it. So little that the special dairy-free formula has been purchased for the day when my excess supply that I’ve been using to supplement my current production finally runs out. Every day I think about quitting but feel I’m so close to that (self-created) finish line I have to keep on going. So I write myself a little countdown every day to get me there. 35 more days! What what!

Sorry this has being a long post about breastfeeding / pumping.

Leave a Reply

